Steam (Windows, macOS, Linux) Windows iTunes App Store

RFC: Sound effects

in English in Forums

Post 1–9 of 9

OP

by

Firefly

14 days ago

During yesterday's livestream I commented that I'd like to change the wooden planks sounds in Angeldust because I don't like that they're really squeaky. I think having shorter, more focused wood 'thumps' would be nicer and make builds feel less shoddy. I'd like to know if there are other sounds that are subpar, from material sounds to user interface sounds to creature sounds. Can't promise I'll change anything or everything, but I'll listen carefully :D

# 2

by

Loki The Witful

13 days ago

Less squeaky wood boards sound like an interesting idea I would like to hear, heh. And for the other sounds I would have to give them a good listen to first before I suggest anything

# 3

by

obi-

9 days ago

I stopped playing angeldust without any sounds not long after I started playing, cuz there were some sounds I really didn't like. These sounds aren't even rare sounds you never hear, but very common sounds you could hear multiple times a minute. Had I not muted the gane, I would probably be pushing a million sound replays of these sounds. Sounds that made me turn off angeldust sounds: - the sound that plays when you hover over an item in the inventory, especially jarring when you move your mouse across the inventory in a diagonal - inventory.wav, ear piercing, other sounds like switching hotbars, opening the chat log, filtering items... are nice smooth sounds, when compared with this one, it for sure is much sharper, making it feel off. - deleting any block sound, just too high pitched, also repetitive Honorable/horrorable mentions: - walking on wood - walking on cyanergy/lava... maybe make it not sound like you're walking on grass shards?? it gives the same vibes as getting a little stone stuck under the bathroom door and then when you open the door it scrapes the ceramic tiles - getting coins, could definitely be more twinkly a